LIVESTRONG at the YMCA

livestrong-reduced

LIVESTRONG at the YMCA is a research-based physical activity and well-being program designed to help adult cancer survivors reclaim their total health. This program is FREE to any adult cancer survivor, and also includes a FREE household membership to the YMCA for the duration of the program.

In this 12-week group training program, participants receive one-on-one attention in a group setting, which creates a safe and comfortable workout environment. Participants work with Y staff trained in supportive cancer care to safely achieve their goals such as building muscle and strength, increasing flexibility and endurance, and improving confidence and self-esteem. By focusing on the whole person, LIVESTRONG at the YMCA is helping people move beyond cancer care in spirit, mind and body.

To date, the YMCA of Greater Omaha has served over 400 individuals through the LIVESTRONG at the YMCA program. Of those participants, the following have improved or maintained in the following categories: 93% – aerobic function, 96% – strength, 80% – flexibility, and 90% – balance.

2016 Session Dates

Armbrust YMCA Hours

Feb. 6th-April 26thMon/Wed11:00am-12:15pm
Sept. 18th-Dec. 6thTues/Thurs6:00pm-7:15pm

For more information contact:

 Macy Dewispelare
402-896-4200
mdewispelare@metroymca.org

Council Bluffs YMCA Hours

Feb. 20th-May 12thMon/Fri5:30pm-6:45pm
Aug. 28th- Nov. 17thMon/Fri5:30pm-6:45pm

For more information contact:

Janon Tufte
712-322-6606
jtufte@metroymca.org

Downtown YMCA

For more information contact:

Stacey Centarri
402-341-1600
scentarri@metroymca.org

Mills County YMCA

For more information contact:

Erin Lenz
712-527-4352
elenz@metroymca.org

Maple Street YMCA Hours

February 7-April 27, 2017Tues/Thurs10:30am-11:45am
September 12-December 2, 2017Tues/Thurs10:30am-11:45am

For more information contact:

Amy Roux
402-393-3700
aroux@metroymca.org

Sarpy YMCA Hours

February 8-April 28, 2017Wed/Fri10:30am-11:45am
May 1-July 28, 2017Mon/Wed6:30pm-7:45pm
September 11-November 29, 2017Mon/Wed6:30pm-7:45pm

For more information contact:

Theresa Lovings
402-339-9861
tlovings@metroymca.org

Southwest YMCA Hours

Feb. 13th-May 3rdMon/Wed5:45pm-7:00pm
May 15th-Aug. 2ndMon/Wed5:30pm-6:45pm
Sept. 18th-Dec. 6thMon/Wed10:00am-11:15am

For more information contact:

Jill Schoenherr
402-334-8487
jschoenherr@metroymca.org

Twin Rivers YMCA

For more information contact:

Judy Argintean
402-359-9622
jargintean@metroymca.org

Success Stories

Sponsored in part by:

400px Susan Logo-01